I am honoured to be appointed as Chairman in 2019 and to share with you the Annual Report of the Authority. Over the years, the Authority has been providing quality professional training for the local clothing industry in the pursuit of excellence while unleashing the potential of talents. Being the vanguard of the training institution in the industry, we will endeavour to explore the trends and developments and to provide the best support to practitioners of the industry.

In the past year, we were dedicated to fortify partnership relation and nurture a pool of professionals for the industry. Following the established strategic plans, the Authority will continue to focus on developing activities that add value to stakeholders. They includes a broad spectrum of professional training courses, corporate training and various sorts of support to the industry.

In the advent of the new era of “Industry 4.0” and the popularity of application of artificial intelligence, big data and cloud computing, the clothing supply chains follow the same upwards trajectory in developing a new portfolio of the digital and smart mode of operations. In its wake, the enterprises of the fashion design and manufacturing adopt the application for the intelligent system, automation as well as new technology to speed up the transformation of production mode to boost competitiveness.

In the backdrop of digitalisation, apart from upgrading the existing teaching facilities, the Authority also introduces new courses from time to time. In September this year, we welcomed the first group of students of “Higher Diploma in Digital Fashion Creation”. Other than the Higher Diploma, we has also provided a new series of part-time courses, seminars and workshops related to the application of digitalisation.

On top of the training courses provided, the Authority plays a pivotal role in supporting human resources development for the industry. Qualification Framework Secretariat reappointed the Authority as a professional writer to undertake the compilation of Specification of Competency Standards for four functional areas, namely Material development, Production planning and control, Technical support and Laundry service. The Authority also missioned to increase recognition of skills and qualifications of the practitioners in the industry through the qualification framework platform. In the meantime, the Authority works closely with the industry for enhancing training curriculum to help practitioners to strengthen their technical skills.

To help the industry to boost its competitiveness, the Authority carries out a series of research and development of applied technologies with the funding from the Innovation and Technology Fund alongside the support from the industry. Among them was Activity-based Carbon Footprint Modelling (ACFM) which gained wide recognition from the industry. Altogether over 50 enterprises has been provided with the training of ACFM, which was put in place in calculating the resources consumed in the clothing production processes. The result was significant to formulate carbon reduction strategy conducive to the development of a low-carbon production environment.

“Re-industrialisation” is one of the key business promotion activities of the local government recently to bring local economic advancement to a new height. In this regard, the Authority was tasked to compile a special report which outlined a road map for re-industrialisation for local small-to-medium textiles and clothing enterprises. We had conducted an in-depth study of the development of textile materials, the trend of application of new technology and the current status of the local textile and clothing industries. The report recommended a three-pronged strategy for reindustrialisation, namely Digitalised manufacturing and business models, Circular economy and resource efficiency, and High value-added solutions. Rounds of seminars were organised by the Authority so that the industry better understood the three-pronged strategy and thus formulated their plans of re-industrialisation.

In response to rising concern to the issue of sustainability in the society, the Authority pays much efforts to implement environmental-friendly-related projects so that the clothing industry has a good grasp of this prevalent issue. For instance, the Authority organised an annual event – “Fashion Summit (Hong Kong)”, which is a major event in the Asia fashion industry in promoting sustainable concept. The 2-day summit featured more than 50 speakers from all over the world. Through 6 keynote speeches and 10 panel discussions, the speakers exchanged opinions and experiences on the latest trends, innovative technologies, solutions and opportunities of sustainable fashion.

I want to take this opportunity to express my heartfelt thanks to the former Chairman, Mr. Yeung Chun-fan. Mr. Yeung contributed to render the Authority a well-established training institute of high reputation on providing professional and quality training to the youth and practitioners for the industry. My thanks also go to every current and former Member of the Authority, all staff members, stakeholders and working partners particularly on their unfailing support and commitment to work rendering our mission of nurturing talents for the industry a great success.

我很榮幸在2019年接任製衣業訓練局(訓練局)主席一職,跟大家分享任內第一份年度報告。多年來,訓練局致力為香港服裝業提供優質、實務與適切的專業培訓,協助從業員發揮潛能,追求卓越。作為業界培訓的先驅,我們積極探索職場的發展趨勢,務求為從業員提供最佳支援。

回顧過去一年,我們致力發展服裝業專才教育,同時與業界保持緊密互信的關係,提升行業人力質素。秉承上屆委員會定下的策略方針,訓練局繼續重點發展為持份者增值的項目,包括各種專業課程、企業培訓及工業支援。

「工業4.0」時代崛起,人工智能、大數據及雲端服務等的應用大行其道,服裝行業供應鏈亦朝向數碼化及智能化發展。服裝設計及生產企業需利用智能化軟件、自動化機械服裝設備及新型技術來加快轉變生產模式及提高競爭力。

配合時裝設計數碼科技的發展,訓練局除提升現有的教學設施, 亦不斷推出相關新課程。於本年9月,「數碼時裝設計高級文憑」迎上首屆學員。除此高級文憑外,訓練局亦推出一系列數碼技術應用的兼讀課程、研討會及工作坊,向業界介紹數碼化技術。

除培訓課程外, 訓練局在支援業界人力資源方面,擔當重要角色。資歷架構秘書處今年再委託訓練局為專業撰寫人, 為四個職能範疇領域:「物料開發」,「生產計劃與控制」,「技術支援」和「洗衣服務」編寫《能力標準說明》。訓練局藉著推動業界利用資歷架構平台,使從業員的技能和資歷獲得認可。訓練局亦與業界伙伴緊密合作,加強培訓課程內容,助從業員持續提升技能,迎合業界人力資源需求。

為協助業界提升競爭力,訓練局在得到創新及科技基金基金的資助及業界的支持下,近年開展了一系列的應用技術之研發。其中「作業基礎碳足跡模型」(ACFM)獲得業界認同,共有超過五十多家企業接受了系統培訓,利用相關模型計算服裝生產過程中所耗用的資源,從而釐定出合適的減排方案,創造低碳生產環境。

政府近年積極推動「再工業化」,為香港的經濟發展尋找新的增長點。訓練局為香港中小型紡織和時裝業進行「工業化路線圖」研究,深入探討全球紡織品材料開發與應用技術趨勢,以及本地紡織和時裝產業的現狀。研究報告建議行業再工業化可從三個主要策略方向進行,分別是「數字化製造和商業模式」、「循環經濟和資源效率」及「高附加值解決方案」。訓練局舉辦多場研討會,使業界可了解研究報告之策略方向,跟據自己的市場及定位來制定其機構未來「工業化」的發展方針。

因應社會對可持續發展的概念日益關注,訓練局致力推行不少關注環境議題的項目,加強業界的認知, 包括每年一度的大型高峰會「時尚高峰(香港)」。高峰會是亞洲時裝界的盛事,旨在向時裝業界推廣可持續發展理念。為期兩天的高峰會集合逾50位來自世界各地的講者,透過6場主題演講和10場專題討論,互相交流可持續時裝的最新動向、創新科技、解決方案及機遇等意見和心得。

在此感謝前主席楊振勳先生,奠定訓練局穩定基石,使之能繼續向前邁進,為年青人及在職人士提供優質及專業的培訓課程,為業界培育人才。謹此向現屆及前屆委員會成員、管理層及全體員工、各界持份者及合作伙伴致以衷心謝意,感謝他們對訓練局一直以來的支持及貢獻,讓我們得以實現願景,一同為業界培育更多專才。